A quick update…

It’s been quiet on the home front and this has left the blog without new news but I had to do a update so here goes. We are all doing well Leah has been moving along full speed her progress seems to be satisfactory, her vocabulary is outstanding and after a occupational therapy assessment we were informed by a very surprised OT that in her 18 years of doing therapy she has never come across a 3year old with such good memory, Leah’s counting and recognition skill and identifying color skills is above average… so I guess I might be changing the blog title to “Raising professor Leah” LOL. But seriously just like any other child out there Leah is a bright little spirit filled with life and she is only three years old so I don’t plan on force-feeding her any encyclopedia information  , she is a very observant toddler who learns as she goes along and most of what she knows is definitely due to having 2 older sisters who “chitter chatter” from sunrise to sunset and lets not forget to thank  Barney …… our purple friend for his repetitive number and color songs . I’m sure lots of parents will agree with me when I say Barney has a way of seeping into the “subconscious mind”

I have noticed that Leah’s memory is somewhat like the saying “Having the memory of an elephant” so I understand the therapist being somewhat surprised with her memory recall ability. A funny thing happened the other day, Leah was in a really bad mood and Grandma told her “If you’re angry that’s fine with me I just won’t talk to you” Leah responded “That’s fine…. Talk to my Lawyer” I nearly choked on my coffee with laughter and once the laughter settled I realized that she had taken that quote from a television add promoting legal aid. Sometimes when we driving she spots certain familiar buildings and she is able to tell us were we going. She has the ability to recall names of people she has only met once before, and when we pray, she always asks to pray for Danielle and Dadda in heaven and she always reassures me that I don’t have to cry anymore because she can remember my tears when my Grandfather passed away.  She remembers where to find things she packed away days before and there are times she will ask me what I did with the left over macaroni and cheeses we had a week ago, she can tell dad were he left his car keys if he cant remember were he had placed them and one thing she knows for sure is if someone has moved her sweets because she knows exactly which way she places the packet in the cupboard, so we have to make sure her treats are in the same place, facing the same direction as she last placed them!! Or needless to say there will be trouble…. as she will hunt down the guilty party for touching her sweeties  🙂

The more I think of these special qualities the more I know for sure that she is Heaven sent. And I take comfort in the fact that her assertive nature is going to be to her advantage one day, she knows who she is and she never backs down, if she sets her mind to something she is determine to finish it.

On the Dwarfism awareness front, things are moving along steadily, I recently did a live radio interview about the blog and public awareness I am currently busy with a leading child magazine doing a article on Dwarfism Awareness and I have been receiving quite a bit of positive feedback from the public so I guess the word is getting out there, and I will keep pushing, and pushing… so it seems Leah does get some of her determination from her mommy after all 🙂

5 thoughts on “A quick update…

  1. Oh my, I LOVE the slideshow! Leah is just too adorable, and that smile!! So glad she impressed the OT, and I could use Leah’s car key finding! Way to go on the dwarfism awareness, I have just started a little awareness myself, as Trace is preparing for PreK this fall! Keep up the good work!

  2. Way to go Leah! I love your elephant memory especially when it comes to your sweets! Char, that’s awesome that you are working on publishing an article in a child mag and that you did the live radio interview to raise awareness! You rock! Love all the slide show pic’s! Those kissy lips are so cute!

  3. Please please post more often! It is coomments like “speak to my lawyer” and other silly little things that are little classics that are part of growing up. You’ll forget them along the way and wish you had recorded them somewhere … OK, ok, that’s my 2c and I’m not even a mom. I just love reading about the things children come up with and am so interested in learning more about Professor Leah 🙂

Leave a Reply

