Living a life much bigger than normal

I know that the chance of “them” reading this blog is slim because some people in the world today have a attitude of : “ If im not affected by it I wont bother to know more about it”

The “Them” that I am referring to are the few ignorant individuals that roam among us… what saddens me the most is they not just “anybody”… they are parents just like you and me so let me explain. On a recent outing Leah got really excited when she saw a little girl sitting in the shopping cart close by. Leah said hello and waved asked her name and the little girl responded and smiled and chatted just like two toddlers would do… completely innocent not having a care in the world. The little girls mom was not aware of the two little ones chatting as she was too busy picking fruit out of the basket. As I moved my shopping cart to pass the little girl, Leah stretched out her hand to touch  her hand, her mother who happened to be done fruit picking at this point realized what  Leah was doing and darted across the floor to get between her child and Leah, she pushed her little girls hand out the way and said  “Don’t touch her cant you see there is something wrong with her!!”  And she walked off.

My heart broke and I was left speechless, needless to say I left what I was doing and walked out the shop, as my eyes welled up with tears . I held Leah in my arms and she put her arms around me and said don’t cry mommy, she had no understanding of what had happened and  I felt a sense of relief  because she didn’t have to fell the hurt I was feeling.After I regained my composure I became really angry because I realize how ignorant this mother was, she without knowing is teaching her child to be just as ignorant as she is.

I’m sure lots of LP moms have been in my shoes and has been left utterly heartbroken, don’t people realize how hurtful their actions can be?? Are they so selfish that they have lost all sense of self-awareness?? How can they demand respect from the world if they dish out disrespect to others?? How can you whip out your cell phone camera and say “Oh my can a take a picture of her we have never seen a baby midget ITS so cute”

I guess there will always be ignorant people in the world but at the same time I am grateful to the genuine people who go out of their way to acknowledge Leah when she says hello…. The few who smile and blow kisses the few who say do you mind if I give her a hug, the few who say Leah that’s a beautiful name……..  God has a plan of that im sure, Leah is my testimony… because when the world had no hope for her God knew better and I’m sure one day she will rise above all these hurtful moments to become a little lady living a life much bigger than normal.

14 thoughts on “Living a life much bigger than normal

  1. So I’m not a mom, but I still know what you dealing with. I’m different too. I’ve got brittle bones. It drives me crazy how people stare. It annoys me senseless how “They” cannot accept that we are human beings and individuals too and just because I’m in a wheelchair does not mean there is something wrong with my brain.

    All I can say is keep up what you are doing. Shower Leah with love because that is what she will remember – the undying support of her mom that loves her lots. Just like mine did and still does.

  2. Hi I know exactly how you feel, my daughter has brittle bones and has also left a comment here. She is very tiny and we always got comments. I think the worse one was that she should not live to grow up because of the life she would live – dont know what she meant – Trudie is 31 now, after the doctor gave her 2yrs to live, and she has lived a full and happy life. We didnt shelter her and she went to “normal” schools and then to a technical college. Please read her blog at aphrael78.wordpress.com
    There will always be ignorant people in the world but we always took Trudie where ever we went and tried to educate a few of them along the way.
    Gillian

  3. Pingback: A reason for things happening « It’s my life …

  4. God’s word says “we are wonderfully made, knit together in our mother’s womb”……and thats unquestionable

  5. people like that make me so mad..how dare she:( luckily i havent had that kind of experience yet only thoughtless comments and someone wanting to take a photo of Fern. Leah is lucky to have you as a mum…guess things like this will make us stronger and hopefully contribute to increasing awareness. Hugs to you and leah.xx

  6. Oh Charmaine, my eyes just welled up reading this. How terrible. We have been very fortunate not to have had any experiences like that, I’m not even sure what I would have done. It would have been a toss up of punching the lady in the mouth, running out in tears, or trying to tell the little girl that Leah was just small and that was it. I better start practicing now, because I’m sure my day is coming. It is amazing that some people can be so hurtful and disrespectful when there is a wealth of knowledge out there if one is open to it. Hugs to you and sweet Leah!

  7. Blessings, Charmaine. It is so sad when people don’t understand…when they judge and discriminate. (I came here via Trudie’s blog.) With a mom like you caring for her and helping her along, I know she will be able to rise above the limited viewpoints. And maybe even teach people how to expand and grow…

  8. I’m teary-eyed reading this post and sending lots of hugs to you and sweet Leah! That picture of the two of you is so precious!!
    It’s hard to imagine that some people can be so ignorant and mean, and I’m so sorry you had to experience that. We have not yet had to deal with anything hurtful like that.
    You have a great attitude . . . remember all of the wonderful people that go out of their way to acknowledge Leah and give her hugs and kisses! She is a beautiful little girl and you are an amazing mom!

  9. Oh Charmaine! I was in tears reading this! I’m so sorry you had this encounter! There are more ignorant people out there than I have ever thought there would be. Having Sonya I am unfortunately now no longer blind to these idiots. They are the ones who are missing out… they are missing out on getting to know one of the most beautiful sweetest creations of God! I know that there are far many more good people in this world though and their actions speak louder than those who are ignorant! Many many big hugs to you both! The photo is priceless! Absolutely beautiful!

  10. Beautiful picture and precious moment between mother and child ! Such touching words you shared with us, Charmaine, thank you. Wouldn’t the world be a much better place if tolerance was more present ? if people would accept the differences for what they are, just differences, enriching, teaching us to see with the heart, opening one’s self to the others no matter who they are and how they look like. We are all brothers and sisters, I believe. Ignorance and fear often cause these hurtful reactions like you experienced. Your little Leah is a treasure and you, Charmaine, a wonderful mother. Hugs and kisses to you both 🙂

  11. I have never had that experience. I wonder sometimes if it is demographics, but maybe being from NY and now in a modern part of Virginia, or maybe because I come across as a bitch on wheels, I don’t know, but no one has ever said anything-once a woman who had some mental deficiency noticed Pres was smaller and asked what was wrong with him? She did not mean it harmful at all, and her mind was that of a young child so she did not understand.
    Leah is gorgeous and you are a wonderful mom trying to raise awareness in a part of the worl that needs it desperately. Know that we are right behind you, every step of the way, even half a world away.

  12. I can not imagine what you must have felt, and what you feel when you encounter such ‘close-mindedness’, for I am one of those ‘normal’ people. But what I can say is that I find your love for your daughter an inspiration. Even though the world is filled with ‘darkness’, the love you have for your daughter lights up the universe.
    Please, if I may ask, do not judge this woman, or like minded people, for they simply do not know better. They too are caught up in their ‘darkness’. Do not let other people’s garbage pollute you. Simply set the example of love that you do so wonderfully, and the love will light up the darkness.

    Beautiful picture.

  13. Thank you for your blog. It touched my heart. I think you are a wonderful, courageous mom. I’m so sorry for your heartache and I know as a mom you don’t ever want your children to go through any heartache. I think she is beautiful and you’ve received the most precious gift. Iwish only joy, laughter and endless blessings for you and Leah. You give her the best gift of all, growing up with love such as yours.

  14. Hi she is beautiful I know how u feel it breaks your heart when people can be so cruel. I have 3 achondrplasia children. my oldest is 22 and is pregnant leaning towards achon baby due 1/11/10 cant wait,an 18 year old boy,and a 6 year old we adopted we had her since she was 2. Sometimes u want to scream at them and say what would u do if u had a different child.Also the use of the word midget which is just as offensive as the N word for african americans.

Leave a Reply

